I WANT TO BE RICH FAST!

This article was written recently for my school alumni blog with readers from various religious background. Bible Verses was added in this posting. I pray that it will bless you. Bro Chim.
1 Timothy 6:6-11  (NKJV)
Now godliness with contentment is great gain. 
For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. 
And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content. 
But those who desire to be rich fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and harmful lusts which drown men in destruction and perdition. 
10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil, for which some have strayed from the faith in their greediness, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.
11 But you, O man of God, flee these things and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, gentleness.

###

In our materialistic world, most of us want to be rich quickly and easily. Rich in the world means having lots of money and possessions, having highly paid positions and having powerful jobs. Some of the most powerful and wealthy people are multinational corporate owners who control huge investments and thousands of people across the globe. My question is, “Is becoming RICH fast in the world really matters at all? Is that all there is chasing material comfort in this world?”
 
I must qualify my statement first. Yes, with money, we can do many things in the world. Being super rich is not sin at all or something we frown on as obscene or not right. It boils down to how you accumulate and spent the money you have been entrusted with.

 

To begin with, I would like to share actual stories that happened in my life. Some 20 years ago, I was working in an oil multinational company in Malaysia. I once had a chat with a young graduate from the UK. His engineering degree was sponsored fully by the company. After graduation, he was given an executive position in the company. He has just started work about six months in the company. On this occasion I remembered him saying, “In five years time, I want to be the Managing Director of this company.” I just smiled and I walked away, feeling dazed at that time. I asked myself in my heart that day, “Why the haste to be at the top of a multinational company? And in five years time, is he ready to lead such a multi-billion company? On another occasion in church some five years ago, a Christian brother asked me to pray like this, “Brother Chim, please pray to God for me to bless me with RM 700k ( about US$160k ) so that I can do God’s work full-time.”  Amusing stories yet it’s true. At the time of writing, the young executive has resigned and moved on to other company while the RM700k answer to prayer never came.

 

For many years in the 1990’s I have sold diesoline (diesel) in Kedah and Perlis, the rice bowl of Malaysia. I always admire the padi (rice) farmers there. I sold diesel to them to power their farm tractors and equipment. You see, farmers knew the timing of land preparation, sowing, planting, taking care of the crops, harvesting and all that agricultural stuff. There is a time and season to do farming. Knowing the time to prepare the field, the sowing, the planting and all the processes is of utmost important.
Success or failure of the crops depends a lot on the knowledge and wisdom of the farmers. I knew that during the harvesting season, my diesel sales will go up as tractors and harvesting equipments are being used extensively. I understood more now the need for the divine process to take place and preparations needed in one’s life. I underwent tough preparations, pruning and waiting in my own personal life. A wisdom saying goes like, “Rome was not built in one day.”
 rice66
rice11

rice22

rice44

rice33

I must say that I treasure the important lessons that I have learned from the padi farmers. However in reality, many people (including myself when I was young, ambitious and naive then) wanted to be rich instantly without doing anything. In the process of wanting to get fast bucks, some are willing to do all the wrong and illegal activities like drugs trafficking, robbery, gambling, cheating, corrupting etc. And with all the ill gotten gains, they are proud to show off by driving flashy cars, living in big houses, exclusive club memberships, flashing a string of gold and platinum credit cards, wearing fine and expensive jewelries, branded dressing and handbags, big and expensive personal events etc. To top it all, we now have fast food joints to serve us instant meals and drinks. We are in the “fast food” generation. The life purpose today is to grow up and get rich fast. Everything is fast and instant! Sadly, in the world today, there is nothing like the timing, the patience, the perseverance and the waiting like the seasoned padi farmers. The mad rush to be rich fast and instantly has to stop somewhere. It’s a dead end road in front.

 

A wise saying I have kept within my heart all these years has been that, “Godliness with contentment is great gain.” Why GODLINESS? This character trait puts the FEAR of God in our hearts and in our daily lives. There is no short cut to success. There is the seasons and timing of life for everyone. In temperate countries, there is the four season of winter, spring, summer and autumn. In Malaysia, we have the dry and wet seasons.

So, potential rich people need time of preparation to develop a strong moral and ethical foundations to take care of the wealth entrusted to them by Almighty God. Otherwise, instant wealth can and will destroy lives. It has been proven already in the lives of many big time lottery winners. They ended up more miserable after spending all the money they have won. Whatever religious traditions you are in, learn to fear God in your business, in politics, in your career and in your personal dealings with others. Be aware that someday, we are to make an account of all our accumulations, our deeds and actions for the wealth that has been entrusted to us. We have only one life to live and that is to live right with the fear of God in our hearts.

 

The next important character foundation to build is CONTENTMENT. We don’t have to keep up with the Joneses. Envy, jealousy and greed are poison to our souls and happiness. It destroys our ability to laugh and to relate to others properly. Without contentment, we can be very negative and dissatisfied people. With excessive spending to keep up with the Joneses, we get trapped into committing huge debts.  And without proper financial planning, it will quickly lead to disaster. Some even commit suicide due to all the financial troubles. Daily in our hearts, we must be thankful for all the blessings, for our families and for our nation. Be thankful for even the smallest of blessings. Live within our means. Work hard like the ants, storing up food during the summer. Be satisfied with the lot that God has given us. Contentment is a deep inner gratitude of the heart. So be CONTENTED and HAPPY!
Most of you knew that in the year 1999, I have semi-retired from the oil multinational company. I was 40 years old then. Why retire so early when you have a good and well paying job? Frankly, if I have worked on as a full-time corporate executive, life would have been miserable and not a fulfilling one for me.

 

Remember, we are born to be free and to pursue the dreams of God in our lives, just like the Magpie birds in the forest with freedom to roam the forest. Be contented with what we have in this life. I have learned to be contented in times of plenty and in times of want. I have times when there is no cash to fill up petrol for my car and to buy food for my family. Through it all, I have discovered that money is not everything for me. My relationship with GOD, my family and friends are just as important. Someday, when I die, they are the ones who will attend my funeral and remember the good and bad times we had together. Money by itself cannot buy friendship. It is used mostly for business transactions, with no love and emotion attached to it. Friendships are built on something more like loyalty and sacrifice. So beware of instant riches my brothers and sisters!
It is my sincere prayer that “To be rich is not about what you have, it’s what you give away…unconditionally. Be mindful that all of our life is a GIFT (a PRESENT ) from Almighty God including even the breath that we have. Freely we receive the blessings, freely we give away. The more blessings we have, the more will be demanded of us.”

So my brothers and sisters, having heard my story, are you courageous enough to be the appointed manager of God’s resources?

 

I pray that you DO and the Good Lord showers His abundance into your lives to bring joy and happiness to others as well.

Stay Blessed!

 

Bro Chim TS

Selangor, Malaysia

November 2015

###

BIBLE VERSES FOR MEDITATION

1.     1 Timothy 6:6-11 (NKJV)
Now godliness with contentment is great gain. 
For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. 
And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content. 
But those who desire to be rich fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and harmful lusts which drown men in destruction and perdition. 
10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil, for which some have strayed from the faith in their greediness, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.
11 But you, O man of God, flee these things and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, gentleness.
 
  1. Proverbs 1:19   NKJV
So are the ways of everyone who is greedy for gain; It takes away the life of its owners.
 
  1. Matthew 16:26

For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?

 
  1. Luke 9:25
For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and is himself destroyed or lost?
 
  1. Philippians 3:8

Yet indeed I also count all things loss for the excellence of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them as rubbish, that I may gain Christ

 
  1. Deuteronomy 5:29
Oh, that they had such a heart in them that they would fear Me and always keep all My commandments, that it might be well with them and with their children forever!
 
  1. John 14:21
He who has My commandments and keeps them, it is he who loves Me. And he who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him and manifest Myself to him.”
 
8.   Ecclesiastes 12:13-14  (NKJV)

13 Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter:

Fear God and keep His commandments,
For this is man’s all.
14 For God will bring every work into judgment,
Including every secret thing,
Whether good or evil.

 
###

 

 

###

Leave a Reply

